Reflective Summary: Topic 2

by amandakeee

tumblr_m6r1rlqNpq1qh0xaao1_500

After reading different posts by my classmates, I am enlightened by so many different perspectives. At the beginning, I saw having multiple online identities as being active in more than one social media platform. In my opinion, it does not mean creating two separate Facebook accounts that makes two different online identities; it meant having more than one social media platform account. Our behaviours differ from different social-networking sites and websites, e.g. on SnapChat, I am more informal whilst on Facebook, I tend to be a little more formal and careful with my postings.

This shows that we portray ourselves differently, though using the same domain. That to me is having more than one online identity. As I may see this differently as compared to some of my classmates, it all boils down to the amount of opportunities we are given to show ourselves to the world, whether using just one platform or multiple.

One thing that got me thinking while I was commenting on Szeli’s post was that, we no longer have full control over the amount of personal information that we release on the internet. Though we may not be as active on these platforms, the pictures that are taken with and by people are constantly being uploaded without our consent and this makes it easier for people to track our activities. While reading one of our UOS senior’s post (Evan), name tagging is so widely used now and while it is being used on us, the photo uploaded by another party is immediately posted, for us, on our profiles!

So I guess the point I am driving at is that, having multiple online identities allows us to explore the different sides of us. Sides that we may not feel as comfortable to show others in person and to us, the first step in doing this is through the Internet.

I have also shared my opinions on Szeli’s and Stephanie’s blog posts.

References:

How The Big Bad Wolf Targets The Modern Red Riding Hood. (2014, December 1). Retrieved November 4, 2015, from https://evantangs.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/how-the-big-bad-wolf-targets-the-modern-red-riding-hood/
Chong, V. (2014, December 2). Reflection: Identity Crisis in Cyberspace. Retrieved November 4, 2015, from https://saradanlee.wordpress.com/2014/12/02/reflection-identity-crisis-in-cyberspace/
G0ldgungirls. (2012). Retrieved November 4, 2015, from http://g0ldgungirls.tumblr.com/post/26637844616/split-personality